Apple continues to make app subscriptions more transparent and manageable, as the latest beta of iOS 13 warns users when they delete an app that still has an active subscription.
The new iOS 13 feature, first spotted by Federico Viticci on Twitter, displays a pop-up explaining your subscription options when you delete an app. The pop-up informs the user that even if the app is deleted, the connected subscription will remain active and can still be used on other devices.
Never seen this alert before – Apple now tells you if an app you're deleting has a subscription still active. Good move.
(Taken on iOS 13 beta 2.) pic.twitter.com/WU57nS8Ziv
— Federico Viticci (@viticci) June 18, 2019
Do you want to keep your subscription for this app?
Your subscription to [appname] can still be used on other devices. It will automatically renew on Jun 28th, 2019 unless canceled at least a day before.”
The notification offers the option to go to the Manage Subscriptions interface, where a subscription can be cancelled if you so wish.
Earlier this year, Apple made moves to make it harder for a user to accidentally commit to a subscription. Apple also this year made changes to its app subscriptions documentation, outlining that users should be clearly presented with billing amounts.
Screenshot courtesy of Federico Viticci on Twitter.