Mac Tip: Delete Vs Backspace

Mac Tip: Delete Vs Backspace

This Mac tip is provided by Mark Greentree and was originally posted on Mark’s blog – Everyday Mac Support. For more of Mark’s tips visit his site, follow him on Twitter, or browse his archive of posts here.


How To: Delete Vs Backspace

If you’re new to the Mac platform you will have no doubt noticed some differences from the offerings of competing operating systems such as Linux and Windows.

Apple uses delete where other platforms tend to use backspace.

However, don’t get confused with the terminology. Delete does exactly the same task on a Mac as backspace does on a competing platform.

That said there are a few options for new users to consider.

On the standard Apple wireless keyboard pressing delete will remove the content before the flashing cursor to the left hand side. However, if you press the fn key and then delete it will remove content in front of the cursor towards the right.

Alternatively, users with an Apple Extended Keyboard have a dedicated delete key therefore removing the need to hit the fn key before delete.

Delete Key
Press delete to remove content to the left of the cursor.
Press fn + delete to remove content to the right of the cursor.
On Apple Extended Keyboards there is a dedicated delete key.

Related

  1. Where to Buy an iPhone 5S or 5C On Launch Day
  2. How to Prepare Your Mac for OS X Mountain Lion
  3. Video Tip: Change Natural Scrolling In Mac OS X Lion
  4. How To Avoid Toll Roads When Using Navigation in iOS 10 Apple Maps
  5. How to Save a Water-Damaged iPhone
  6. Mac Tip: Empty Trash Without Confirming
Giveaways by iDrop News

iPhone X Giveaway

$999

Enter

MacBook Pro Giveaway

$1499.00

Enter

10.5″ iPad Pro Giveaway

$649.00

Enter

iPhone 8 Plus Giveaway

$800.00

Enter
Share