When Can You Install iOS 14 & iPadOS 14? Here’s an Estimate

When Can You Install iOS 14 & iPadOS 14? Here’s an Estimate

Apple will release the general public versions of iOS 14 and iPadOS 14 today, Wednesday, September 16. The company released Golden Master versions of both mobile operating systems to developers yesterday. Also due to be released today to the general public are watchOS 7 and tvOS 14.

The announcement yesterday of today’s release of iOS 14 and iPadOS 14 took developers by surprise, as Apple hadn’t given any warning that this week was release week for any of the new operating systems.

While Apple hasn’t announced an exact time of day for the release of the new OS version, they traditionally hit the gate at around 10:00 a.m. Pacific Time, so be ready around then. (Although it might be smart to wait until later in the day, as everyone will be trying to download and install the new operating systems as soon as they become available.)

Here’s a list of when Apple’s new operating systems will likely become available based for times zones in the United States and around the world:

  • Honolulu, Hawaii — 7:00 a.m. HAST
  • Anchorage, Alaska — 9:00 a.m. AKDT
  • Cupertino, California — 10:00 a.m. PDT
  • Phoenix, Arizona — 10:00 a.m. MST
  • Vancouver, Canada — 10:00 a.m. PDT
  • Denver, Colorado — 11:00 a.m. MDT
  • Dallas, Texas — 12:00 noon CDT
  • New York, New York — 1:00 p.m. EDT
  • Raleigh, North Carolina — 1:00 p.m. EDT
  • Toronto, Canada — 1:00 p.m. EDT
  • Halifax, Canada — 2:00 p.m. ADT
  • Rio de Janeiro, Brazil — 2:00 p.m. BRT
  • London, United Kingdom — 6:00 p.m. BST
  • Berlin, Germany — 7:00 p.m. CEST
  • Paris, France — 7:00 p.m. CEST
  • Cape Town, South Africa — 7:00 p.m. SAST
  • Moscow, Russia — 8:00 p.m. MSK
  • Helsinki, Finland — 8:00 p.m. EEST
  • Istanbul, Turkey — 8:00 p.m. TRT
  • Dubai, United Arab Emirates — 9:00 p.m. GST
  • Delhi, India — 10:30 p.m. IST
  • Jakarta, Indonesia — 12:00 a.m. WIB next day
  • Shanghai, China — 1:00 a.m. CST next day
  • Singapore — 1:00 a.m. SGT next day
  • Perth, Australia — 1:00 a.m. AWST next day
  • Hong Kong — 1:00 a.m. HKT next day
  • Seoul, South Korea — 2:00 a.m. KST next day
  • Tokyo, Japan — 2:00 a.m. JST next day
  • Adelaide, Australia — 2:30 a.m. ACST next day
  • Sydney, Australia — 3:00 a.m. AEST next day
  • Auckland, New Zealand — 5:00 a.m. NZST next day

‌iOS 14‌ is compatible with the same iPhones as iOS 13. ‌iOS 14‌ compatible devices are listed below.

  • iPhone 11 Pro
  • ‌iPhone SE‌ (2020)
  • iPhone 11 Pro Max
  • iPhone 11
  • iPhone XS
  • ‌iPhone XS‌ Max
  • iPhone XR
  • ‌iPhone‌ X
  • ‌iPhone‌ 8
  • ‌iPhone‌ 8 Plus
  • ‌iPhone‌ 7
  • ‌iPhone‌ 7 Plus
  • ‌iPhone‌ 6s
  • ‌iPhone‌ 6s Plus
  • ‌iPhone SE‌ (2016)
  • iPod touch (7th generation)

‌iPadOS 14‌ is compatible with all iPadOS 13 devices, which are:

  • All iPad Pro models
  • ‌iPad‌ (7th generation)
  • ‌iPad‌ (6th generation)
  • ‌iPad‌ (5th generation)
  • ‌iPad‌ mini 4 and 5
  • iPad Air (3rd generation)
  • ‌iPad‌ Air 2

‌watchOS 7‌ is compatible with Apple Watch Series 3, Series 4, and Series 5 models. It is not compatible with the original first-generation Apple Watch, Apple Watch Series 1, or Apple Watch Series 2.

‌tvOS 14‌ is compatible only with fourth- and fifth-generation ‌Apple TV‌ models.

(Thanks to MacRumors)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *