Facebook has announced that it will be rolling out a new location-aware social feature to its mobile app called “Nearby Friends.” The feature will allow users to receive notifications when friends are nearby, making it possible to contact them and meet up.
If you turn on Nearby Friends, you’ll occasionally be notified when friends are nearby, so you can get in touch with them and meet up. For example, when you’re headed to the movies, Nearby Friends will let you know if friends are nearby so you can see the movie together or meet up afterward.
Facebook says the new location sharing feature is opt-in, so users will have to actively turn on the feature, rather than it being a system-wide activation affecting all users.
You’ll be able to choose who can see if you’re nearby, restricting it to friends, close friends, or a specific list of friends. The feature can also be turned on or off at any time.
The Nearby Friends sharing is a two-way street, with all involved parties needing to turn it on and then choosing to share your nearby location with each other.
The new feature will be rolling out to users in its existing iPhone app over the coming weeks.