Apple has added a new data restoration feature to iCloud.com, allowing users to restore deleted files, calendars, and contacts. The new options, “Restore Files”, “Restore Contacts” and “Restore Calendars” can be found hiding in the iCloud.com Advanced Settings pane.
Be careful to check the warnings below the window before continuing with a restore. There are some downsides to restoring certain types of data. Restoring calendars will cause invitations to be resent and sharing to be disabled, for example. Reassuringly, though, you can always go back to your current version if you restore the incorrect state as iCloud will make a new snapshot of data before proceeding with the restore.
Apple shows users snapshots of their recently deleted documents, allowing them to be restored back into the user’s iCloud Drive. This will be handy, as there is no Trash folder available in iCloud Drive.
Contacts also displays timestamped snapshots of iCloud contacts. Restoring to an earlier version gets rid of all changes made since the backup’s date. Restoring of individual contacts is not available at this time.
9to5Mac reports the backups appear to hold about 30 days worth of data, although this can vary. The Files tab displays the days remaining for each file before it is permanently deleted.