• Home
  • How To
  • iOS
  • How To: Disable the Live Photos Version of a Photo in iOS 9

How To: Disable the Live Photos Version of a Photo in iOS 9

How To: Disable the Live Photos Version of a Photo in iOS 9

The iPhone 6s and iPhone 6s Plus brought a great new feature to photos called Live Photos. Live Photos captures the moment just before and just after you press the shutter button to take a photo. The new feature can be turned off and on at will, but what if you take a Live Photo, when you really wanted to take a regular photo?

How To: Disable the Live Photos Version of a Photo in iOS 9

Disabling the Live Photo Version of a Photo

If you had the Live Photo feature of your iPhone’s camera turned on by mistake, and really just wanted to take a normal photo, there is an easy way to delete the live portion of the shot, while keeping the still shot.

  1. Open the Photos app on your iPhone.
  2. Select the photo you want to delete the Live Photo portion from, and tap “Edit.”
  3. Tap the Live Photo icon in the top left corner and then tap “Done.” This will disable the Live portion of the photo.

If you decide to re-enable the Live version of the photo, simply bring the photo up and tap “Edit,” and then tap the Live Photos icon again. This will re-enable the Live video portion of the pic.

While the above steps doesn’t really delete the live portion of a Live Photo, there are apps that will delete the live portion completely, leaving only the still shot, thus actually freeing up space on your device. Two that come to mind are: Photo Cleaner ($2.99), and Lean (Free).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *