Facebook is finally adding a Messenger feature its users have been clamoring for. The social network says it is in the the process of developing a new unsend feature for Messenger.
The company mentioned the upcoming feature in the changelog for a recent update to the iOS Facebook app. Users will be able to unsend a message within a preset grace period.
According to Facebook, the unsend functionality will give you 10 minutes to delete a message after it has been sent. The message will be deleted from your Messenger thread, as well as the recipient’s. The change was first spotted by Matt Navarra on Twitter.
Facebook describes the unsend functionality as follows:
Coming soon: Remove a message from a chat thread after it’s been sent. If you accidentally send the wrong photo, incorrect information, or message the wrong thread, you can easily correct it by removing the message within 10 minutes of sending it.
In April it was revealed that Facebook had been deleting messages sent by company founder Mark Zuckerberg, but was not making the feature available to the general public.