• Home
  • How To
  • How to Save All of Your Tumblr Content Before It’s (Accidentally) Flagged as NSFW and Removed

How to Save All of Your Tumblr Content Before It’s (Accidentally) Flagged as NSFW and Removed

How to Save All of Your Tumblr Content Before It’s (Accidentally) Flagged as NSFW and Removed

Tumblr has announced that it’s giving up its porn obsession, and that means the platform is flagging and removing all of what it interprets as porn from the blogging site.

While there have been some questions raised about Tumblr’s “scorched earth” approach to its NSFW content, (some innocent materials are being removed along with the adult stuff), the fact is, it’s going to happen.

So, if you want to save the content you’ve posted over the years, NSFW or not, follow the steps below to export it all to your hard drive.

How to Backup and Download Videos and Pictures From Tumblr

Tumblr offers an export tool to save your content, but it’s buried deep in the “Help Center.”

To save your content, do the following:

  1. Log in to Tumblr with the account you wish to save the content from.(DUH!)
  2. Once you’re logged in go to your “Dashboard” and click the “Account” button in the upper right hand of the dashboard. (It looks like a silhouette.)
  3. Click “Settings.”
  4. Select the blogging account you wish to save. (Tumblr allows users to have more than one account.)
  5. Click the “Export” icon at the bottom of the following screen.
  6. You’ll be waiting for awhile (depending on how much you’ve uploaded over the years), for the exporting process to complete, so grab a cup of your favorite beverage and maybe catch up on one of your streaming favs.
  7. Once the export process has completed, a “Download” button will appear. Click the button, and select a spot to download the Tumblr ZIP file to your device.
  8. Wash, rinse, repeat for each Tumblr log you wish to save.

Your downloaded ZIP file will include:

  • A “Posts” folder, which will contain each reblog, draft, private post, flagged post, and any other hidden posts as HTML files
  • A “Media” folder, which will contain media from your posts and in any of your messages, including photos, GIFs, audio, and more
  • All your posts and conversations in XML format

Make sure to do the above before December 17th, or some/all of your content may be gone forever.

Topics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *