Netflix has been slowly but surely expanding its crackdown on password sharing in multiple countries around the globe. The streaming service is now preparing to begin cracking down on password sharers in the United States sometime during the second quarter of this year.
Beginning Tuesday, Netflix began sending out emails (as seen below) to users who have been sharing their account passwords with people living outside of their homes.
Netflix is offering two ways to continue to share your membership outside of the household:
- Buy an extra member: You can share your Netflix account with someone who doesn’t live with you for $7.99 per month more.
- Transfer a profile: Anyone on your account can transfer a profile to a new membership that they pay for.
People who are not in your household will need to sign up for their own account to watch; or in many countries you can buy an extra member slot to add an extra member to your account.
- Add an extra member
Account owners on a Standard or Premium plan in many countries can share Netflix with someone who doesn’t live with them by adding an extra member to their account.
- The account owner will need to purchase an extra member slot, then invite an extra member to use the extra member slot.
- The extra member must be activated in the same country where the account owner created their account.
- Extra members cannot be added to Netflix-included packages or third-party billed accounts.
- Extra members cannot be added to ad-supported plans.
When starting a new account or adding an extra member, a profile can be transferred from an existing account, including recommendations, viewing history, My List, saved games, settings, and more.
Netflix’s Help Center offers details regarding extra members.