• Home
  • How To
  • iOS
  • How To Set and Reset ‘Trust This Computer‘ on Your iOS Device

How To Set and Reset ‘Trust This Computer‘ on Your iOS Device

How To Set and Reset ‘Trust This Computer‘ on Your iOS Device

When you connect you iPhone or iPad to a computer for the first time, you’ll be prompted whether to trust the computer. When you connect to trusted computers, you can sync with your device, back it up to the computer, and access content on the iOS device.

How To Set and Reset 'Trust This Computer‘ on Your iOS Device

Computers remain trusted until you change which computers you trust or erase your device. If you opt to not trust a computer, then all access to your device’s content by that computer is blocked.

How To Set and Reset ‘Trust This Computer’ on Your iOS Device

How To Choose Whether to Trust a Computer

  1. Connect your iPhone, iPad, or iPod touch to your computer via your Lighting sync cable.
  2. Enter your passcode to unlock the device.
  3. Depending on whether or not you want to trust the computer do one of the following:
    a.) If you don’t want to trust the computer or other connected device, tap “Don’t Trust” on your iOS device.
    b.) If you want to trust the computer or other device, tap “Trust.”
  4. Tap Continue in iTunes.

Change the Settings for Trusted Computers

Your iPad, iPhone, or iPod touch remembers which computers you’ve chosen to trust.

If decide that you no longer want to trust a computer. Go to “Settings” -> “General” -> “Reset” -> “Reset Location & Privacy.”

Now when you connect to any computer that was previously trusted, you’ll be required once again to either trust or don’t trust the computer.

For more tips and tricks on how to make better use of your Mac, iPhone, iPad, iPod touch, Apple Watch, or Apple TV, be sure to visit the “How To” section of our website.

  1. vishal thakral says:

    Everytime i connect iphone 7 to macbook pro via cable, it says “Trust or Dont Trust”

    Even after i have selected Trust then also whenever i reconnect, it says Trust or Not Trust then i have to type the passcode.

    I dont want this Windows everytime as the macbook is my trusted device

  2. Gary says:

    This began happening to me after I accidentally tapped “Don’t Trust” just one time. After that, it appears that machine (my development machine) was somehow permanently marked for this prompt to come up. It ‘remembers’ I didn’t trust it one time.

    Tempted to do the “Reset Location & Privacy.”, but not sure what else will be “Reset”.

    Tricky/frustrating indeed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *